Link to Home Page Link to About LCBO Link to Press Page




Honorary Chair

Hon. John A. Kitzhaber, M.D., Former Oregon Governor


Hon. Betsy Johnson, Oregon State Representative

Board Members

Dick Basch (Second Vice-President)

Dr. Les Bergeron

Gert Boyle, Columbia Sportswear

Neil Bryant, Bryant, Lovlien & Jarvis (Secretary)

Bud Clark

Bobbie Conner, Director, Tamástslikt Cultural Center

Joe D’Alessandro, Portland Oregon Visitors Association

Kim Duncan, Tri-Met

George Forbes, The Governor Hotel

Steve Forrester, The Daily Astorian

Peter Gray

Bill Hansell, Umatilla County

Keith G. Hay, Past President, Oregon Chapter, L&CTHF

Ken Karsmizki, Columbia Gorge Discovery Center

Debby Kennedy, Port of Portland

Tim Martinez, Oregon Bankers Association

Les McNary, Lewis & Clark Bicentennial Association (Treasurer)

Jan Mitchell, Lewis & Clark Bicentennial Association

Michael Mooney, President, Lewis & Clark College

Warne Nunn, Trustee, Meyer Memorial Trust

Chet Orloff, Oregon History Works (First Vice-President)

Norma Paulus, Acting Director, Oregon Historical Society

Louie Pitt, Jr., Director, Government Affairs & Planning, Confederated Tribes of the Warm Springs Reservation

Nancy Stueber, Executive Director, OMSI

BG James B. Thayer, Sr., Civilian Advisor, Secretary of the Army

Tom Walsh, Tom Walsh & Company


Hon. Victor Atiyeh

Hon. Earl Blumenauer

Hon. Bill Bradbury, Secretary of State

Adjutant General Alexander Burgin, Oregon National Guard

Mike Carrier, Oregon State Parks

Hon. Peter DeFazio

Hon. Neil Goldschmidt

Hon. Mark Hatfield

Hon. Darlene Hooley

Superintendent Chip Jenkins, Fort Clatsop National Memorial

Hon. Barbara Roberts

Hon. Gordon Smith

Hon. Greg Walden

Hon. David Wu

Hon. Ron Wyden

Executive Director

Barbara Allen

Elowah Falls in the Columbia Gorge

Board Meetings & Terms


Meetings: Held every other month


Meeting locations move along the Lewis & Clark trail in Oregon (from the Pendleton area to Clatsop County).


Meeting duration depends on the agenda; typically last 2-3 hours.


The new board’s first meeting was held at the Oregon Historical Society in Portland April 17, 2002, including a presentation by Gov. Kitzhaber.


Board members serve two-year terms, and may serve additional terms.


  1. Set the vision for the organization.

  2. Direct staff in efforts to implement the vision.

  3. Secure financial and other resources.

  4. Raise the profile of LCBO among potential funders, as well as with the public and/or constituency you represent.

More LCBO Information:

About LCBO

LCBO Partners

Strategic Plan


Home About Us Signature Event Explorer Train Calendar Sites The Corps Press Room Publications Links Site Map
E-Mail LCBO E-Mail Webmaster

© 2003 Lewis & Clark Bicentennial in Oregon (LCBO) | Updated April 10, 2003